Senate Approves Azimio’s Last-Minute Changes on PSC Committee

2 min

The Senate on Wednesday, November 9, approved a motion by the Minority wing to amend the motion from the National Assembly that sought to approve a list with Senator Fatuma Dullo’s name.

Azimio coalition replaced Senator Dullo with her Nyamira counterpart Okong’o Omogeni as its nominee to the powerful Parliamentary Service Commission.

Steward Madzayo the Minority leader moved the amendment motion that was unanimously approved by the House.

“I move that the motion be amended to delete the name of Senator Fatuma Dullo and substitute it with the name of Hon Erick Okong’o Omogeni, senior counsel,” Madzayo said.

Kilifi Senator Stewart Madzayo addresses the media in Kilifi County in 2019


Madzayo said he had written to the speaker to disregard a letter he had received from other members nominating Dullo to the Commission.

“In all the letters that come from the minority, I am the authority. Unfortunately, this was not to be so and another letter was written which led to that appointment (of Dullo),” he affirmed.

While seconding the motion, Kitui senator and Deputy Minority leader Enoch Wambua stated that Madzayo was the authority for the minority wing and that his letter overruled others.

The amendment implies that the motion will go back to the National Assembly for concurrence.

Siaya Senator Oburu Odinga and Sirisia Legislator John Waluke missed out on the PSC slots even after being nominated earlier.

Waluke’s woes escalated after he was sentenced to 67 years in prison in a corruption case, involving the National Cereals and Produce Board – NCPB.

Jubilee Secretary General Jeremiah Kioni delivered the nomination to the embattled lawmaker at the Industrial Area Remand Prison.

Narok Senator Ledama Ole Kina was expected to take over as minority whip with Omogeni deputizing him.

The Parliamentary Service Commission consists of the Speaker of the National Assembly, as the Chairperson, seven Members appointed by Parliament, and a woman and a man appointed by Parliament from persons who are experienced in public affairs but are not Members of Parliament.

The Clerk of the Senate, Jeremiah Nyegenye, is the Secretary to the Commission.

Isiolo County Senator Fatuma Dullo in a rally

Isiolo County Senator-elect Fatuma Dullo in a rally



Source link

Like it? Share with your friends!

Send this to a friend